How does things work here?

This forum is for non-Russian-speaking users of our website. You can write here in any language.
Ответить
bergenga
Контактная информация:

Сообщение bergenga » 10 янв 2012, 17:46

No, I'm not a total newbie, :mi_ga_et: but I have some questions to how some things work here at fotobus.msk.ru, so I can make life easier for the database moderators (and me). Both some technical questions and some best practices. I have tried to read the instructions, but Google Translate doesn't give anything meaningful.

First i wonder how the vehicle history connection works. At first I thought that they would connect if both/all had the same technical data like serial number and chassi number, but it doesn't seem to work.

Here are some that I added, but they never showed up with history. I must admit that when I first made them I forgot and set them to still "operating" and not "send to other company", but I corrected it soon after.
NE 54193 > DGB 107
NE 55159 > FCJ 477
NE 64405 > 220 BDV
NE 69318 > FCJ 476
SP 69532 > DFC 582

How should I do it to make it work? I plan to add a lot of photos of buses in Norway that later have been exported, but I don't want to make too much work for the moderators. Or is this something the moderators have to do manually all the time?

My next concern is about best practice when companies change their names. Should one say that it arrived/left a company when the name was changed and have several history steps for it, or should one count it as one company despite several different names?
Here in Norway, Veolia Transport sold out in the spring of 2011, so since then they changed name to Boreal Transport. That is a significant change, and shows a new time in the history of the company. Would that deserve the two names to count as two companies?